Oh The Places I Have Been: Alaska

I’m still not feeling 100% yet so I didn’t hit the gym last night.  I am still having the internal gym debate about whether or not I should go tonight.  It will be a game time decision when I get home from work.

I am still on a bit of a vacation cloud and don’t want to come back to the real world yet so here I am talking about vacations again.  Last year, the hubby and I took a cruise to Alaska on Holland America.  We went the first week of June and left from Seattle, WA. 

Our first port of call was Juneau where we checked out the town

and went sea kayaking in front of the Mendenhall Glacier

Second port of call was Sitka where the hubby and I went fishing.  I love fishing and this was my favorite excursion/day of the whole trip.

The next day the cruise ship cruised the Hubbard Glacier where we even saw baby seals hanging out on the ice floats.  The glacier was beyond amazing and the color in the photos doesn’t do it justice.

We headed to Ketchikan next and took a floatplane to a crab lodge for lunch.  While on the plane we even got to see mountain goats. 

The final port of call was Victoria, British Columbia but I don’t have any photos from that.  We were there at night and ate the most delicious fish and chips at a local pub.

Since we were in Alaska in June, the sun never seemed to set and we used to walk the decks around 11pm.  Here’s a photo of  the 11pm sunset.

This had to have been one of my favorite vacations. Going to see Alaska is amazing and a once in a lifetime experience.  Well, at least for this east coaster!

Have you ever been to Alaska?  Favorite parts of your trip?  What was your favorite vacation?